New Zealand ASEAN Scholars Awards

New Zealand ASEAN Scholars awards empower individuals with the knowledge, skills and qualifications to contribute to economic, social and political development within ASEAN nations.
The New Zealand Government, through the New Zealand Aid Programme, provides scholarships for eligible postgraduate students from Cambodia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Lao PDR, Burma and Viet Nam to undertake development-related studies at a tertiary education institution in New Zealand.

Studying in New Zealand

New Zealand educational institutions and facilities are world class and an internationally recognised New Zealand qualification opens up new and exciting opportunities.


Successful applicants for the New Zealand ASEAN Scholars awards are entitled to the following benefits: return air travel, full tuition fees, an establishment allowance upon arrival in New Zealand, and a living allowance to cover day to day costs. Students may also be entitled to return travel to their home country to see dependant family members under the Reunion Airfare Entitlement.The partners of students are automatically eligible for a New Zealand work permit to allow them to work for the duration of their partner’s studies.

How to Apply

To apply for a New Zealand ASEAN Scholars awards please contact the relevant New Zealand Embassy or service provider for your home country. See the list below.

  • Indonesia
    Development Programme Administrator
    Sentral Senayan 2
    10th Floor, Jl. Asia Afrika No. 8 Gelora
    Bung Karno
    Jakarta Pusat
    Tel: +62-21-29955800


New Zealand education institution contact details and Scholarship application closing dates

New Zealand Development Scholarship awardees can study at any of the tertiary education institutions listed below. Commonwealth Scholarships awardees can only study at New Zealand universities, identified by (NZDS + CS) in the table below..


Auckland University of Technology (AUT) (NZDS + CS)
International Student Centre
Private Bag 92006
Auckland 1020
New Zealand
Fax: 00 64 9 917 9925                                                                          Closing date 30 May 2011

Lincoln University (NZDS + CS)
International Centre
PO Box 94
Lincoln 7647
New Zealand
Fax: 00 64 3 325 3879                                                                         Closing date 31 May 2011

Manukau Institute of Technology (MIT)1
International Centre
Manukau Institute of Technology
Private Bag 94006, SAMC
Auckland 2240
New Zealand
Fax: 00 64 9 968 8741                                                                         Closing date 31 May 2011

Massey University (NZDS + CS)
International Office
Massey University
Private Bag 11 222
Palmerston North
New Zealand
Fax: 00 64 6 350 5698                                                                        Closing date 01 May 2011

International Office
Private Bag 92025
New Zealand
Fax: 00 64 9 815 4301                                                                       Closing date 18 June 2011

University of Auckland
International Office
Auckland International
PO Box 92019
Auckland 1142
New Zealand
Fax: (International admissions) 00 64 9 373 7405                             Closing date 01 May 2011

University of Canterbury (NZDS + CS)
International Office
Private Bag 4800
New Zealand
Fax: 00 64 3 364 2171                                                                      Closing date 01 May 2011

University of Otago (NZDS + CS)
International Office
University of Otago
PO Box 56
New Zealand
Fax: (International admissions) 00 64 3 479 8367                            Closing date 30 April 2011

Victoria University of Wellington (VUW) (NZDS + CS)
Victoria International
Victoria University
PO Box 600
Wellington 6410
New Zealand
Fax: 00 64 4 463 5056                                                                      Closing date 15 May 2011 (01 May 2011 for PhD applicants)

University of Waikato
Waikato International
University of Waikato
Private Bag 3105
Hamilton 3240
New Zealand
Fax: 00 64 7 838 4269                                                                     Closing date 30 May 2011 (01 May 2011 for PhD applicants)